Neon & The Rain – Freddie Hart

This record shot to the top of the charts in my shop today. WOW!!!!!

This. Is. Country. Music.
I’m of the mind that real Country was gone by 1975 anyway.
This gem entered the canon in October of 1967 and it is sure bet, top of the list material that includes another devastator…………..
” The Cold Hard Facts Of Life. ”

Title track lyrics……….

Neon And The Rain
Gene Crysler
© Southtown Music, BMI

As I sit beneath the steerin’ wheel a gun in my right hand
I watch the girl I married keep a date with another man
The neon sign above her head blinks motel vacancy
And through the rain it’s flashin’ like the storm inside of me

And that’s the way it looks through the neon and the rain
They really found a gutter and now they’re crawlin’ down the drain
I’d like to run and yet I know my pride is proud I came
To pay them what I owe them in the neon and the rain

The man with her is my old buddy that I shared my coffee with
Guess he thought she had more kisses on her lips than mine would miss
The traffic splashes my windshield and yet the picture’s there
Of the people I caught cheatin’ in the motel’s neon glare

And that’s the way it looks through the neon and the rain…

I mean, c’mon, seriously.
His friend and his wife.
Real country.

Leave a Reply

